Music Feast


Thanks to all participating show choirs, volunteers, patrons, vendors, and school administrators for making the 42nd Annual Music Feast Event a success!


The 43rd Annual Music Feast will be Saturday, November 14, 2020.


Please visit the 2020 Music Feast page for more information and how to register.


Music Feast is a cherished tradition at Ada High School…

In the fall of 1978, Ada High School music students were greeted by a new music staff: Mr. Dean McDowell (instrumental) and Mrs. E. Lynn Knoble (vocal). That year brought changes to the music department, including a flag corps to accompany the marching band and an honors’ choir called “The Varsity Singers.” The Ada “Music Feast” was “born” to showcase this new Ada group and to help bring community support to all music programs by raising money for new band uniforms and choir robes. Mr. McDowell coined the name “Music Feast…” an evening of good food, good friends and good music.


Over the years, Music Feast has changed in many ways, but the basic idea—to showcase talented young musicians— still remains paramount. In the early years, Ohio Northern participated by bringing such groups as the University Singers, the ONU Jazz Band and Added Attraction show choir.


In 1980, the Varsity Singers changed from an honors’ choir to a show choir and began to move to the music. Thus, other area show choirs were invited to become a part of the Feast beginning with groups from Bluffton, Cory-Rawson, Kenton, Riverdale and Spencerville. Soon, the competition idea blossomed into judges commenting on the shows and, finally, into the competition format known today. Ada’s next band director, Mr. Ronald R. McVicker, and Mrs. Knoble were especially innovative, in that Ada was the first competition in the state to divide participating choirs into “classes” based on school enrollment. Now, almost every competition in Ohio and nationwide offers such a class-based format for competitions. The 2018 event was the third year for our director of vocal music, Mr. Scott Henning, and the tenth for our director of bands, Mr. Jonathan Lischak. We thank them for their leadership of this event.